head, clearing of

June 1, 2011

I have yet to open the ginormous box that I know contains my author’s copies. It’s as though once I slice open that tape, I’ve taken a step that I cannot take back, and I have to acknowledge the thing-ness of what I’ve done. Also, I know that once I lay eyes on the books, I will start wanting to come up with a great book event – a launch party, as it were – but I really don’t have time this month (as it is now June) and I definitely don’t have the money. Perhaps, though, in July, I can have a local event. BUT! BUT! of course there’s BUT! What about having a non-local event? I only have so many copies – ten of each, I was told. If I can’t afford to have a party in town, I damn well can’t afford it out of town.

Your thoughts are appreciated.

I am hoping/planning on a major surgery for later this year. It is fraught with emotional complications, even though it shouldn’t be. I am afraid of the expense more than anything else. I am the most risk-averse person I have ever met. Explains a lot, doesn’t it?

Completed the Torchwood watching project. And yet I need more. Please send fanfic recommendations – rated NC-17, if at all possible. What’s Torchwood without twisted smut, I ask you?

No writing at all has been accomplished in weeks. I’ve been sick, then I had a nightmarish period, and now… I’m just weary. The incessant rain has finally worn me down and I can’t fight back anymore. I just want to drink cocktails and sleep. And there’s so much to be done – revising My LGB of the Apocalypse (does that title make sense? … oy vey), completing a draft of Plums… well, OK, that’s not that much. But still. I’m having a hard time making my thoughts coherent right now… which is why I’m taking a quick blog break, so that, ideally, I can write some marketing copy. For the actual job. Towards which I really ought to change my attitude. I’m just so tired. I don’t want to do anything.

But I do have an idea about how to publish Plums. It’s a pretty great idea. I just need to finish writing it before I can work towards the release of it. Which means I need to walk away from Captain Jack Harkness (my dear Jack; my dear Ianto – such a dark, horrible love story between two hopelessly fucked up people) for a little while, and get back to the machinations of Michael, Jim, and Jesse. Which means I need to get my inspirations back in line. It’s not like I don’t have them in the house – all four volumes, in fact, though I think I only really need to review the first one. 😉

Send Hendricks’ Gin and orgasms in large quantity. I will pay for expedited shipping. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

